Dating

Posted: August 19, 2009 in Uncategorized

HeartIt might come as a shock to you that I am not the ladies man that you might think I am.   I will allow the shock factor to go away before I continue….Ok…Let’s continue.  Now you might wonder why I would mention that on my blog?  I mention it beause it has been something I have been thinking of for a while.  Now, no, I don’t have any girls in mind…except may Jessica Alba, but I don’t think that will happen.  My problem is that I don’t have a lot of confidence.  When I was in middle school, I asked a girl out, and she laughed at me.  I never forgot that.  Now, even if I like someone, I tend to keep it to myself, because of how I view myself.  I tend to see myself in a negative way.  I tend to look at my outward appearance and think that everyone sees me like that.  But there is a problem with that.   See, God does not see me like that. 

God sees me as his child.  He sees me as someone that he wants to be with for eternity.  God doesn’t care about my appearance, although He definately wants me to be healthy so that I can truly experience the blessings He has in store for me.  I am a beloved child of the God of Heaven and earth.  There is a reason that Jesus said the 2 greatest commandments were Love the Lord your God with all your heart, soul, mind and strength and then love your neighbor as yourself.  Notice that you are to love your neighbor as yourself.  This means that we should love ourselves.

The fact is that we can never truly love someone until we love ourselves, and other people can’t really love us until we love ourselves.  Now, this is not a conceited love, but a love of knowing who you are and who your creator is.  It is knowing that God loves you more than you can ever possibly imagine, and realizing that if God can love me that much, then I can surely love myself. 

I sometimes wonder why I’m not in a relationship yet.  I wonder what I am doing wrong.  But then I begin to look at things a little differently.   When I look at things through the eyes of God then I begin to realize that God controls everything.  I don’t need to worry about relationships.  God will provide on his own time.  He knows what He is doing.  When I offer up my life as a living sacrifice to God, then I can begin to conform my will to Gods will, and then I won’t worry anymore about when the right young lady will come around.  Now, if I can only get my grandmother to get off my back about great grandchildren then all will be fine in the world.  🙂

Leave a Reply

