Going through the motions.

Posted: August 23, 2009 in Uncategorized

Ernest Hemingway once said “Don’t mistake motion for action.” I found that quote the other day and it really got me thinking. What does it mean? I have been thinking about what it might mean. How can you have motion without action?
I heard a song by Matthew West entitled “The Motions.” Here are some of the lyrics. Very impactful:
“No regrets, not this time
I’m gonna let my heart defeat my mind
Let Your love make me whole
I think I’m finally feeling something
‘Cause just okay is not enough
Help me fight through the nothingness of this life

‘Cause I don’t wanna go through the motions
I don’t wanna go one more day
without Your all consuming passion inside of me
I don’t wanna spend my whole life asking,
“What if I had given everything,
instead of going through the motions?”

We can spend our whole lives just living, but are we really living? How about in our daily walks with God? Have you ever gone to church on Sunday but your mind was a million miles away? I know that sometimes at my job I can just “go through the motions.” I can deal with people and do my job, but am I really doing anything productive? The sad thing is that when I am living like that I am the one who suffers. I am the one who keeps staring at the clock just waiting for the day to be over. We can move, but never take action. We can “love” but never truly love. God doesn’t want us to just go through the motions. He wants us to truly live. He wants everything I have.

I want to encourage everyone to live each giving all we have to God. I don’t want to wake up one day and ask myself “what if I had done more?” What if I would have gone to work and been an instrument of God instead of just working to get done with the day? What would have happened if my heart had really been into the songs we were singing?

Let’s ask ourselves each day how can God use me if I give my life to him today? I think you will definitely feel blessed and also bless others.

Leave a Reply

