Love

Posted: August 26, 2009 in Uncategorized

I deal with a lot of difficult people in my line of work.  Just yesterday I had a guest I dealt with that felt the need to swear at me.  I have been called some horrible things on the phone with people.  I have dealt with people who treat me like I am some animal.  I have heard people ask me if I knew who they were, because if I did I surely would give them a better rate.  I even had a guy ask me for my name and I said “Matt.” I kid you not he then said to me right after that, “Well, Bob, if you had any idea who I was you would give me a better price!”  I have had people call me sounding like I was the last person in the world that they want to talk to.  I always wonder how someone can be in such a bad mood when they are calling about booking a vacation.  I would think it would have an opposite effect.  When I think about vacations I get happy!

 

My normal response to these people is to get angry, not directly at the guest, but inside I feel my anger rising.  I have never said anything to a guest, but that doesn’t mean that I don’t want to give them a piece of my mind.  I don’t know what makes people think that they have a right to talk to other humans the way they do. 

 

Today I started thinking, how would God want me to deal with these people?  Would he want me to get angry, bang my fist on my desk and complain after I get off the phone with one of these people?  I think not.  God is love, and if I wish to be more Christ like in my life then love has to be a part of it.  Paul gives an amazing definition of love in 1 Corinthians:

 

“Love is patient, love is kind. It does not envy, it does not boast, it is not proud.  It is not rude, it is not self-seeking, it is not easily angered, it keeps no record of wrongs.  Love does not delight in evil but rejoices with the truth.  It always protects, always trusts, always hopes, always perseveres.”

 

So, if I wish to be love, then I must be patient with people.  I must also not be easily angered.  This is much more difficult than that of course, but it does help me to focus on what is most important.  I want to be a representative of Jesus Christ on this earth.  I want to bless people and show them love, even when I am not treated the same, even when typical western ethical standards would say otherwise.  I should turn the other cheek, walk the extra mile, and give up my cloak.  To the people who treat me the worst, I should treat them with the same love and kindness that I expect, because you will never know when one kind word can change a life. 

I don’t know what causes people to treat someone the way I have been treated occasionally.  I don’t know what is going on in their life.  I don’t know their past.  What I do know is that each person I deal with is personally loved by God, and He wants me to try and reach them in a special way every chance I get.  I want God to use me in any way that He feels necessary.  And the more I conform to God’s will the more I will see people through His eyes, and then when some dude treats me horribly I can look at it from God’s point of view.  When Jesus was hanging on a cross He asked God to forgive the very people who were killing Him.  Surely if Jesus can forgive them, then I can forgive some guy who calls me a bad name on the phone.

Comments
  1. candy rardin says:

    O my goodness matt you never know what life is gonna send your way! K on your end was scarry but on my end what a crack up. sorry about the whole freaky ordeal. I am so laughing at the whole food in the fridge and where are his roomies.

Leave a Reply

