Music

Posted: August 26, 2009 in Uncategorized

Have you ever allowed a song or piece of music to just completely enter your heart?  Have you ever heard a song that touched you emotionally?  Loving music as much as I do, I can lose myself in a song, especially if it is really good.  Ever since I gave my life to Christ back in 2003, Christian music has become to me as important as food, more vital than the very air I breathe.  When I go more than a day without it, I feel different.  I don’t feel incomplete.  Some of the words to these songs are so powerful that when I hear them it reaches down into the depths of my soul.  I wanted to take this blog post to share with you some of my favorite Christian lyrics and why they are so important to me:

Before the Throne-Second Verse

 When Satan tempts me to despair,

And tells me of the guilt within,

Upward I look, and see him there

Who made an end of all my sin.

 Because a sinless Savior died,

My sinful soul is counted free;

For God, the Just, is satisfied

To look on Him and pardon me

To look on Him and pardon me

 What an amazing way to picture what God has done for us.  It helps me to remember where I need to keep my focus.  When I sin, Satan tries to pull me deeper into sadness, regret, and depression, but I don’t have to go down that road, because Christ was sent to remove my sin.  Jesus paid the price for my sin, and in that I can rejoice.

 How Great is our God-First Verse

 The splendor of a King,

Clothed in majesty

Let all the earth rejoice,

All the earth rejoice

He wraps himself in light,

And darkness tries to hide

And trembles at his voice,

And trembles at his voice

How great is our God,

sing with me

How great is our God,

and all will see

How great, How great

Is our God

 This really doesn’t need a lot of explaining.  I like to picture how big and powerful our God is.  This song really helps me to see God as almighty, powerful and majestic.  Even darkness cannot stand in the presence of the almighty God!

Thou, oh Lord

Thou, oh Lord,

Are a shield about me

You’re my glory,

You’re the lifter of my head.

 Hallelujah! Hallelujah! Hallelujah!

You’re the lifter of my head.

 Seeing God as my shield makes me think of God as my protector.  I think of Glory as regal, so this makes me think of God as king.  The lifter of my head shows me the personal side of God, as he lifts my head when I am down. 

 He Hideth my Soul

A wonderful Savior is Jesus my Lord,

A wonderful Savior to me;

He hideth my soul in the cleft of the rock,

Where rivers of pleasure I see.

Refrain:

He hideth my soul in the cleft of the rock,

That shadows a dry, thirsty land;

He hideth my life in the depths of His love,

And covers me there with His hand,

And covers me there with His hand.

 This is taken from where Moses asks God to show him His glory, and God will only allow Moses to see his back because he would die otherwise.  SO Moses stands in the cleft of a rock and God Himself actually covers Moses with His hand so that he will not die.  It shows me how powerful God is and yet how caring He is as well. 

 Those are just some of my favorite songs.  I have many more but I don’t have the time to do them all.

Leave a Reply

