Breaking and Entering

Posted: August 30, 2009 in Uncategorized

This afternoon was supposed to be a time of relaxation after a busy week.  I was relaxing on the couch at about  5:00 PM when I look out of the corner of my eye and see a old man walking into my room!  I jump up off the couch and say “who are you!?”  He tells me that he lives here to which I replied with “um, no you don’t!”  Then he says the words that terrified me.  “I just got out of prison this morning and this was where I last lived.”  Prison!  Are you kidding me?  I began to wonder if this guy was crazy or a murderer, a million things just started going through my mind.  Then I was wondering, how did he get out of prison?  did he escape!?  Then he tells me that he was put on parole this morning.  He then begins to shake a little and he tells me he’s a diabetic and needs some sugar.  Well, on the way from prison he happened to go to the store and began to put things in our fridge!  I was speechless.  I was just standing there in my living room frozen.  I was afraid, confused, maybe a little hungry (just kidding on the hungry.  haha)   I let him have some orange juice that he bought so that he could get his blood sugar settled while I began to wrap my mind around the whole incident.  I called D.J. and informed him of the situation and he called the landlords.  Then Bob (that’s his name) asked me “Hey, can I stay here for a few weeks?”  I told him that would be a negative.  He then asks about his former roomates (the people that lived there before D.J, Titus, and myself moved in) and he mentioned one of the guys that lives on the property behind our house.  I told him that he should go talk with him.   At this point I don’t know whether to call the police or just tell him he needs to leave.  So after getting some advice from my dad, I go and talk to him and let him know that he is not allowed to stay with us.  I grabbed all the food that he had put in our fridge and took it out of the house. 

So, there is my interesting story of the day.  I am still trying to calm down.  That had to be one of the scariest things to happen to me in a long time.  From now on, I’m locking all the doors even when I’m home.

Comments
  1. Wow. I’m sure that really rattled your day!

Leave a Reply

