My Day at The Christian Web Conference

Posted: September 12, 2009 in Uncategorized

What an amazing day it has been!  I spent my day at the Christian Web Conference at Biola University and learned a lot about social media and Christianity.  Social media has really become the fastest growing trend in history.  It took 38 years for radio to reach 50 million people, 14 years for TV, 4 years for internet.  Ipod took only 3 years to reach 50 million people and Facebook, in only 9 months, reached 100 million people!  If you took all the people on Facebook and put them in one country, they would be the 14th most populated country in the world.  Social media is redefining how people talk and interact with each other, from Twitter to blogging to Facebook we get to see things in real time.  This is amazing for things like missions, where instead of waiting a month for a newsletter, we can watch a video uploaded that same day of a well being dug in an African village.  It is amazing.

As a Christian, I want to be salt and light in the earth, and I hope that my blog reaches out to people, not because I want fame, but because I want to help people see God.  Today I learned that when I do blog, I need to write truth, but I also need to write love as well.  Without love, my truth is hard.  Without truth, my love is soft.   Another good piece of advice I received was that when I write, I need to remember that my blog is an extension of my tongue, and therefore I need to be slow to “speak” and quick to listen, remembering that the tongue can not only do good, but to evil.  I also learned that we should be real in our blogging.  the more real you are, the better you can reach others. 

I hope that some of this helps you in your blogs.  I know that I got a lot out of the conference and I am excited about getting a chance to start blogging for Christ!

Leave a Reply

