“You have chosen….poorly.”

Posted: January 2, 2010 in Uncategorized

I can hear it now.  The old knight from Indiana Jones and the Last Crusade after the crazy bad guy drinks from the wrong cup and turns into a pile of dust:

“You have chosen…poorly.”

That’s what I keep thinking as I hit the refresh button on a Knoxville, Tennessee news website, waiting for an update on the situation, I still have trouble believing what I have heard today.  4 players on the University of Tennessee Basketball team were arrested Friday morning during a routine traffic stop after the officer found marijuana, open alcohol and 2 hand guns in the car!  One of the hand guns even had an altered serial number.  I just couldn’t believe it.  What bothered me even more was that 2 of the players were seniors, one of them being Tyler Smith, a probable All-American who opted out of the NBA draft last year to come play for one more season at The University of Tennessee.  One thought kept passing through my mind:  Why on earth would you make such a poor decision?  Why would you risk so much?  As they sat in jail, I’m sure that they began to think of all that was going to happen because of what they did.  Bruce Pearl, the basketball coach suspended them indefinitely.  Now, about 1/3 of our team is gone.  Our top scorer, top assist leader, and best player is gone.  almost half of our offense is gone.  Their basketball future is likely gone. 

I don’t know the whole story of what happened.  I would love to think that there was some misunderstanding and they did nothing wrong, but I sincerely doubt that will happen.  They are going to be punished, and yes I believe that they need to be kicked off the team, because the rest of the players need to know that this will not be tolerated.  I think the athletic department needs to put a lock down on all players and clean house.  Tennessee needs to recruit smarter players, players that have at least a little bit of character. 

I also think that there is a lesson from this that we can all learn from.  We have all made poor decisions in our lives.  We have all done things that have hurt others and ourselves.  When Tennessee plays on Wednesday night, their actions are going to have an effect on the rest of the team, as well as the fans, and the university as a whole.  We might even lose future recruits because of this.  What I am saying is that they did not think before they acted.  They did  not think about what would happen to them, their teammates, their friends and their family.  They only thought about what they wanted at that time. 

Tonight I am reminded that what I do with my life affects others around me.  I have a responsibility as a Christian to be a living example of Christ in all that I do.  I know that I have made some mistakes in my life, and that I will never be perfect.  I have been fortunate enough to feel the grace of God and the restoration that He gives each of us.  I know that I want to be a better Christian.  I want to be a better man, a better employee, and a better example.  I know that in order to do that I must, in the words of the cool old knight, “Choose wisely.”  I am reminded of a passage in Philippians 4:8-9

 “Finally, brothers, whatever is true, whatever is noble, whatever is right, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is admirable—if anything is excellent or praiseworthy—think about such things.  Whatever you have learned or received or heard from me, or seen in me—put it into practice. And the God of peace will be with you.”

If I do those things, then I can hear the old knight say like he did to Indiana Jones, “You have chosen…wisely.”   I pray that the players arrested today will learn from this and experience the grace of God, and that they can move on in their lives and be successful.

Leave a Reply

