Thirst

Posted: March 4, 2010 in Uncategorized

Last Sunday, Tim spoke in the ‘Freedom” series from the book of Galatians and he asked a question that really struck me.  He started talking about if we measure our spirituality on how much prayer, studying, fasting, and other disciplines we are doing then the Pharisees win every time.  Sure, it shows at some level our spiritualitymost of the time, but it should not be the main judge of our spirituality.  Tim asked a question:  “Are you more thirsty today for Christ than you were a month ago?”   I began to really look at my life and ask that question.  Where am I in my spiritual life?  It’s a good question to ask occasionally so see how we are doing.  You see, I do a lot of things for the church.  I could create a list of things but I don’t want that to be the main topic of this post.  Let’s just say I do a lot.  The real question is though, what is going on beneath the surface?  I have done a lot of soul searching and realized that I don’t thirst for God like I really feel like I should.  I tend to try to run my life and not include God.  I tend to get wrapped up in my “church activities” and forget the big picture.  

One of my favorite movies is The American President.  Michael Douglas plays the president of the United States who is also a single father.  he lost his wife to cancer and he begins dating a lobbyist played by Annette Bening.  There’s a lot of political power at stake  and the media is going crazy with this story, and near the end, he’s about to lose her because he doesn’t want to stand up to his opponent who is bashing him and he has to make a decision about a bill he wants to pass or a bill his girlfriend has been fighting for.  In the end, he makes a statement that has stuck with me through the years.  He says: ” I was so busy doing my job, that I forgot to do my job.”  What he meant was that he forgot about what was most important. 

What is most important?  For me it is a relationship with God.  It is my daily walk with him.  Sometimes I allow myself to become dry, a spiritual dehydration if you will.  Luckily, God has the best Gatorade available to bring me back to where I want to be.  I want to be like the psalmist who says “As the deer pants for the water, so my soul longs after you.”  I want that type of thirst.  I long to be back in that type of spiritual walk with God.  And I can have it.  All I have to do is start drinking in the love of Christ.

Comments
  1. Great post Matt,

    It is easy to forget the most important things in the midst of living daily life. In fact, it is easy in with my physical body to forget to take a drink, and then too often my throat becomes parched because I am dehydrated. It is important to keep drinking throughout the day to keep my soul hydrated.

    Great job,
    Randy (DADDY)

Leave a Reply

