You Are Loved

Posted: September 20, 2010 in Uncategorized

It’s been a while since I’ve written a blog post, so to my throngs of readers (ha!) I apologize.  🙂  It’s amazing that when things get busy we can stop doing certain things that we enjoy.

A lot has happened since my last post.  I got fired from my job at Ashford, and now am looking for something new.  It has been a difficult and emotional time for me.  It’s hard not to feel like a failure in moments like that, but my dad keeps reminding me that I;m not a failure, I just failed at one thing.  There is a difference, and mainly it is a mental one.

I started reading a book called The Shack. You might have heard about it.  It is a story about a man who several years after the murder of his youngest daughter encounters God, Jesus, and the Holy Spirit.  Throughout the book he learns a lot about God and finds healing and grace.  It is an amazing book and it really spoke to me.

In one chapter, he is speaking to God, and they are talking about God’s love, and God begins to give him an example of a bird.  He talks about how most birds are designed and created to fly, but if the bird decides to not fly, but walk, then that would be a limitation, not the other way around.  The bird is not limited in its ability to fly, but in its willingness to fly.  The same goes for us.  God (in the book) says “You were created to be loved.  So for you to live as if you were unloved is a limitation, not the other way around.”  That sentence really hit me like a ton of bricks.  I am created to be loved by God.  God’s love knows no limitations, the only limitations that exist is my willingness to live as if I am loved.  My best friend and roommate D.J. Iverson has a saying:  Know You Are Loved.  I always love to say that, but it’s hard for me to believe sometimes.  I grew up believing that love was something conditional, that I had to meet certain criteria to receive love, but that is simply not true.  When I act as if I am unloved, it doesn’t change God’s love for me at all, it only limits the amount of love I am willing to receive.  You only have to look at the hands and feet of Jesus to know his love for us.  The scars on his hands, feet and side speak of a love that is everlasting.  The more I read that passage and digest it, I can feel it moving through my body and chipping away at my broken and calloused heart.  God’s love knows no boundaries, no limits.  It is only I with the limits.

God is always with you.  He never leaves you or forsakes you.  He is always by your side.  I know that there people who are broken and hurting, people who have gone through horrible things, but know that God’s love has never faded.  It has never ceased, and unlike the things of this world, his love will never fade away.  He doesn’t know how not to love.  I pray that you can grasp the love of God.  I pray that you understand that you were created to be loved, and may that love penetrate to the deepest and darkest places of your heart and allow healing to begin.

Know.  You.  Are.  Loved.

Leave a Reply

