Regrets

Posted: November 8, 2010 in Uncategorized

It has been an interesting past couple of months to say the least.  I lost my job back in August, which was really difficult to deal with.  I remember when I found out, I kept going back in my mind wondering what I had done wrong.  I would sit for hours just thinking of all the regrets I had.  Maybe if I had worked harder, or maybe if I was better at sales I could have kept my job.  I became depressed. My mind was stuck in the past and all I would think of was all the things in my life that had gone wrong.

I think that satan (I gave him the middle finger of grammar by not capitalizing his name.  Take that, satan!) works really hard to keep us in the past.  It’s hard to move forward when all you’re thinking of is history.  It would be like driving a car in which the windshield was one big rear view mirror.  It would be really hard to drive forward because you aren’t paying attention to what’s in front of you.  I think that satan likes us there.  He wants us to continue to think of our past mistakes.  He wants to keep you bound to history.

I’m not saying that reflecting on the past is a bad thing, but I believe that as humans we spend too much time in the past.  I always wonder what my life would be like if certain things would have been different, but it won’t help me to move forward.  God doesn’t want us to live in the past.  He doesn’t even really want us to live in the future.  He wants us to live for now.  I have a good friend Carl, who gave me this wonderful saying:

“The moving finger writes and having writ, moves on and neither your piety nor wit can lure it back to cancel half a line nor all your tears shall wash out a word of it.”

We cannot change what has happened to us, but we can choose to not allow our past to enslave us.  Paul mentions in his letter to the Romans that you should “be transformed by the renewal of your mind.”  I can’t begin to tell you how freeing it was when I began to renew my mind and focus on today, and my present relationship with God.  Jesus came to wipe the slate clean.  He came to remove our regret and our shame.  He wiped history away with his own blood.  Who am I to continue to judge myself when my savior has already forgiven all my sins and past mistakes?

Live for the present.  Don’t allow yourself to be enslaved by your past, because you can’t change history.  Learn from it and keep pushing forward, and allow God’s love and forgiveness to renew your mind and refresh your spirit.

Leave a Reply

