The Most Difficult Day of my Life

Posted: December 6, 2010 in Uncategorized

Today, Tim preached what I believe to be one of the best sermons I have ever heard, especially in the context of what has happened recently at NCCC.  As you have probably already heard, Tim Spivey, Randy Armstrong, Peter Wilson, and D.J. Iverson resigned as ministerial staff at North County Church of Christ.  This was not something that could be considered a rash decision, nor was it something that was taken lightly.  Over the past few months, I have had the privilege of working closely with these men, and know the heartache and sadness that has accompanied this decision.

As you probably heard from the meeting tonight, the finance team, of whom I believe to be the best and brightest individuals of the financial field, spent hundreds of hours over the past several months researching the information about the financial crisis that had occurred within the church.  Based upon their findings, they decided to humbly ask for the resignation of the elders, believing, after months of exhaustive research and counsel, that this was the best decision for the church body.  I know that for my father, this was probably the most difficult decision he has ever had to make.

I had someone ask me yesterday whose side I was on.  The truth is that I am on God’s side.  I am not for a divided church.  I am for unity in Christ.  Unfortunately, because of some of the decisions made in the past few years, we have come to a place where I don’t firmly believe that God is blessing the decisions that were made by the current leadership.  Like Tim preached today, the need for a John the Baptist has never been more needed than it has at this time, and I believe that the finance team’s request for the elders to step down was a spirit led decision, based on truth and love for Christ and his people here, and I respect their decision. This was not a decision that I took lightly or quickly.  Only after looking at all the facts did I make my decision.  Many will say that I merely followed my father (my earthly father).  I want to make very clear that my decision to follow the staff was of my own accord and is nothing personal against the elders.  Some of them I am very fond of and have a very good relationship with.  Some of them have been nothing but good to me and have helped me through some very difficult times in my life.  I love them as brothers, but the actions that have occurred make it difficult for me to remain under their leadership.

As I sang in what I assume is my last Sunday service at North County, the tears began to roll down my cheeks as I began to realize the ramifications of what was happening.  This church will never be the same, and I mourn for the members who have tirelessly worked to make North County what it was prior to all of this.

I will have more information soon regarding what will be coming in the future.  I am excited for the opportunity to be a part of something new and to see how God will bless it.  I ask for your prayers and blessings during this difficult time, and I pray that North County can find healing through all of this, and I pray for the eldership and members of North County.  I only want good things for them and pray for their continued success.   I love so many of you and you always will be in my prayers.

 

In Him,

 

Matt Armstrong

Worship ministry Intern

 

Leave a Reply

