My Beautiful Broken Ankle

Posted: February 22, 2011 in Uncategorized

When I was a music major in college, one of the things I really struggled with was sight-reading, which is where you have to play a piece of music that you have never seen before.  In order to move on to the next level, I had to pass a sight reading jury, which means having to sight read in front of the faculty.  In 3 tries, I couldn’t pass it, and so my teacher believed in me enough to give me one last chance.

That semester, I practiced harder than ever.  I wanted to pass it so badly.  My trumpet professor even told me that she felt like I was going to pass this time because of all the hard work I had done.  I was ready.

On the eve of what would have been the most important day in my college life, I slipped outside of the music building.  I broke my leg and ankle in 4 places.  I was taken by ambulance to the hospital, where I was told I would need surgery to put my leg and ankle back together.  As they put me under for surgery, my last thought was about my sight-reading jury that was to happen that next morning.  I didn’t know what was going to happen when I woke up.

The next morning, my phone was ringing from friends and family checking on me.  My trumpet professor called to let me know that she had moved my jury to the end of the semester.  I spent 4 days in the hospital, and then 3 weeks at home in my bed with my leg propped up.  I spent an additional 6 weeks in a wheelchair.  Due to the anesthesia, I had lost a lot of my breath support, which is key for trumpet playing.  I couldn’t practice because I was stuck in my bed.  All I could think of was what could have happened if I wouldn’t have slipped.

I went back to school 4 weeks after the accident and feverishly began practicing again.  When it came time for my jury, I was so nervous.  I played as well as I could, but when my professor called me later that day, I realized that it wasn’t good enough.  Much like my leg, my dreams were shattered.

Many of us have broken dreams.  Many of us live broken lives.  I spent the better part of the next 4 years wondering what could have been.  All I could focus on was the brokenness.  It consumed me.

The amazing thing about Christ is that he can take the most broken and damaged part of us and turn it into something beautiful.  Jesus took a broken woman, who was about to be stoned for adultery, and gave her forgiveness.  He took a murderer and terrorist in Saul, and turned him into the greatest missionary ever as Paul.   He took his broken, beaten, and bloodied body, and turned it into the most beautiful example of grace the world has ever seen.

As I look back now, I realize that if I had not broken my leg, I probably would have never moved to California.  I probably would have never given my life to Jesus.   I wouldn’t be serving at such an amazing church like New Vintage.  God took my broken life and he gave me grace, forgiveness, and love.  My brokenness is now something beautiful.

That is what God does.  If you think that you are too broken, God believes otherwise, and He will show you just how beautiful your brokenness can be when it is put into the hands of the almighty healer.

 

 

Leave a Reply

