My Struggle With Weight Loss

Posted: August 2, 2013 in Uncategorized

I have struggled with my weight for almost all of my life.  I would lose some, then gain it all back plus a few extra pounds.  I’m now at a point in my life where I realize that I need to change.  I have joint pain from all the excess weight I’ve been carrying around.  I am constantly wondering what other people think of me when they see me.  I’m disgusted with how I look and feel.  I know that my weight has caused me to have problems with depression.  Thankfully, I haven’t been diagnosed with heart disease or diabetes, but I know that my chances are high unless I do something.

In the past, I have tried numerous times to lose weight.  All of them have failed.  My most successful attempt, however, was several years ago, when I decided to create a documentary about my weight loss.  I am going to be doing that again.  This time, however, it’s going to be a little different.  First, I am not going to be publicizing like I did last time.  I’m only going to show a few people and then anyone who may stumble upon it.  I may at some point publicize it on Facebook, but not for a while.  I don’t want this to end up like it did last time, with me wondering more about ratings than about my health.

How is this going to be different than before?  That’s a great question.  What I realize that I didn’t really understand before is that every moment of every day, I have to make a choice, and that choice is to either continue on my journey, or surrender to the temptations that are out there.  I also have to conquer my fear, which I will talk about in my next post.

I pray that God gives me the strength to do this, because I know that I can’t do it on my own.  Will be it a struggle?  Yes.  Will I have times that I make bad decisions?  Yes, but I will not allow them to derail me.  I’m making the decision now to fight and to overcome.  Never again will I allow myself to live like I have been living.  Never again…

Leave a Reply

